Friday, February 20, 2009

C-PORT Elects Captain Meyer to Board

Manassas, VA, February 4, 2009 – The Conference of Professional Offshore Response Towing (C-PORT), which is the national voice for the commercial marine assistance industry, held its 22nd annual conference from January 30 - February 1 in Destin, Florida. The conference is a forum for on-water assistance providers to come together to discuss the commercial marine assistance industry.

Even with the economic hard times over 145 attendees from the marine assistance and towing industry representing Sea Tow, TowBoatUS, Vessel Assist, and numerous independent operators attended the conference. Sea Tow and TowBoatUS hold their annual meetings concurrent with the C-PORT conference.

The conference included a presentation by Captain Richard Moore, President of the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA); a keynote address from Captain David McBride, Chief of the Office of Search and Rescue, US Coast Guard Headquarters, and an address by Captain Dean Lee, Chief of Staff, Seventh Coast Guard District.
Awards were presented to Captain Chris Shaffner for his dedication in getting the Florida Salvors language stricken from the record and well as Captain John Aydelotte acknowledging his dedication to the association upon his retirement from the board of directors.
Elections were held for the C-PORT Board of Directors. Capt. John Andrews of Safe/Sea was re-elected to the board. Capt. Roger Slade of Vessel Assist Port Hadlock and Capt. Charles Meyer were elected to the C-PORT Board.

About C-PORT: C-PORT has been the national voice for the commercial marine industry for twenty-two years, representing on-water assistance providers from Sea Tow, TowBoatUS and independent towing providers around the country. C-PORT has more than 200 member companies. For more information please visit or contact Fiona Morgan, Executive Director, at or (703) 361-5253.  (Photo by Laura Meyer)

No comments: